top of page


UFG Postgraduate Program in Dentistry (PPGO/UFG) Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

March 20  -23   , 2024



, Goiânia - Goiás | Brazil







Confirmed International Speakers

Quamarul Hassan.png


• School of Dentistry, The University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), USA

• Craniofacial Biology; Human Genetics

Carlos Flores Mir.png


• Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta, Canada

• Evidence-based Dentistry; Orthodontics

Abbas Jessani.png


• Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Western Ontario, Canada

• Oral health needs of vulnerable populations; Health services research


We are delighted to announce that the UFG Postgraduate Program in Dentistry (PPGO/UFG) will host the second edition of its International Meeting for Dental Research (IMDR) from March 20th to 23rd, 2024, in Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil. 

This time, IMDR will be held entirely in person and will be open to researchers, undergraduate and graduate students as well as health professionals of all institutions, with free registration. 

The primary objective of the 2nd IMDR is to facilitate the exchange of knowledge, experiences and methodologies among researchers worldwide, fostering interactive discussions and group interactions focused on current research topics related to oral health and strengthening lasting and collaborative partnerships.



 Wednesday, March 20th, 2024 

2pm - Opening Ceremony*

2:30pm - Discussion Panel: "Strategies and Policies of Internationalization:

Paths to Human Resources Qualification and Research Strengthening"

* With the participation of coordinators from financial agencies and authorities from UFG

4pm – Poster presentations & Networking coffee

 Thursday, March 21st, 2024 

Symposium: Perspectives in Oral Health:  The Research and Researchers

Moderators: Prof. Lidia Moraes Ribeiro Jordão and Prof. Rejane Faria Ribeiro-Rotta

8am - “Health conditions of minorities and HIV patients” Prof. Abbas Jessani

8:45am - “How can community service learning contribute to equitable dental care? Perspective from the community and learners” Prof. Abbas Jessani

9:40am - “Student engagement and teaching: experiences from a Canadian university”: Profs. Liliani Vieira and Abbas Jessani

10:30am - Networking coffee break

10:45am - “PPGO/UFG Research group’s presentation”: Diagnosis and treatment of oral and maxillofacial complex diseases: training, research, and extension center; Dental public health.

12:30pm - 2pm - Lunch break

Symposium: Cellular Biology in Dentistry

Moderator: Prof. Gileade Pereira de Freitas

2pm - Studies to understand the miRNA regulations on bone formation and homeostasis" Prof. Quamarul Hassan

2:30pm - "Osseointegration of dental implants: cellular mechanisms involved in the interaction between osteoblastic cells and titanium with nanotopography" Prof. Márcio Mateus Beloti 

3pm - "Cell therapy for bone formation" Prof. Adalberto Luiz Rosa 

3:30pm – “Photobiomodulation on bone repair” Prof. Emanuela Prado Ferraz

4pm - Networking coffee break

Symposium: Oral Manifestations of Genetic Diseases

Moderator: Prof. Gileade Pereira de Freitas

4:30pm - “Genetic counseling and the dentist's potential for practice” Prof. Aparecido Divino da Cruz

5pm – “Validation of causal inference of genetically determined diseases with bone phenotype" Prof. Pedro Paulo Chaves de Souza

5:30pm – “LncRNA Regulation During Skeletogenesis" Prof. Quamarul Hassan

 Friday, March 22nd, 2024 

Symposium: Systematic Reviews

Moderator: Prof. Maria Alves Garcia Santos Silva

8am - Systematic reviews with or without meta-analyses vs. Scoping Reviews - impact in practice” Prof. Carlos Flores-Mir

9am – “Scoping reviews” - Prof. Graziela De Luca Canto

10am - Networking coffee break

10h30am-12h30pm - Round table and discussion: "The importance of international research networks" Profs Eliete Neves da Silva Guerra, Graziela De Luca Canto, and Carlos Flores-Mir

12:30pm - 2pm - Lunch break

2pm – “Opportunities for research and collaboration discussion” - Profs Abbas Jessani, Liliani Vieira and Dental Public Health & Diagnosis and treatment of oral maxillofacial complex diseases research groups* 

 *Participation in this activity requires previous confirmation with the event coordination (

4pm -  “Application of evidence in managing obstructive pediatric sleep apnea in day-to-day dental practice - maxillary expansion in Pediatrics OSA cases” – Prof. Carlos Flores-Mir

5pm: Closing ceremony

Saturday, March 23rd, 2024

8am-12pm - “Network meeting: research projects in bone biology”  Profs. Quamarul Hassan, Márcio Mateus Beloti, Adalberto Luiz Rosa, Emanuela Prado Ferraz, Pedro Paulo Chaves de Souza, and Gileade Pereira de Freitas*

 *Participation in this activity requires previous confirmation with the event coordination (

Instructions & guidelines for abstract submission and poster presentation

Important dates and deadlines (updated on 10/3/24):

• February 22nd, 2024

Abstract submission form opens

• March 14th, 2024, 11:59 p.m. Brasilia time

Abstract submission form closes

• March 15th, 2024

Accepted abstracts notification e-mailed to presenters

• March 16th – March 18th, 2024

Presenters send slide presentation via e-mail

• March 20th, 2024

Presentation session (Poster Viewing Times: 1 p.m. - 7 p.m.; Oral Poster Presentation: 4 p.m. - 7 p.m)

Comprising professors, technical-administrative staff, undergraduate, and graduate students

Organizing Committee

 Presidency/General Coordination: 
Pedro Paulo Chaves de Souza 
Nádia do Lago Costa 

 Scientific Committee: 
Cláudio Rodrigues Leles
Gileade Pereira Freitas
Lidia Moraes Ribeiro Jordão
Maria Alves Garcia Santos Silva
Rejane Faria Ribeiro-Rotta

 Infrastructure Committee: 
Ana Luisa Sena Albuquerque
Anelise Alves Silva de Souza
Bianka Fernandes Delmônico
Gabrielly Cunha Amaral
Karine Evangelista Martins Arruda
Laís Mota Jaime
Marisa Alves Araújo
Matheus de França Perazzo
Paulo César da Silva Filho
Steven Kadeem Moore

 Publicity Committee: 
Isabela Rodrigues Fonseca
Stephanie Pereira Costa
Túlio Eduardo Nogueira
Victor Hugo L. de Oliveira Moreira

 Secretary Committee: 
Adriel Henrique Ribeiro dos Santos
Eleazar Mezaiko Vilela Dias
Fernanda Paula Yamamoto-Silva
Giovanna Maria de Rezende Acioli
Karine Nunes Carvalho
Kris Fellipe do Nascimento Santos
Maria Luiza Lima Santana
Maria Teresa Andrade do Amaral
Rosilda do Carmo Jesus Brás
Sara Maria do Amaral Melo

 Treasuary Committee: 
Pedro Paulo Chaves de Souza
Giovanna Maria de Rezende Acioli

 Social and Reception Committee 
Ana Beatriz Teodoro dos Anjos
Ana Carolina Elias Hanna
Angela Natalia Garnica Hilarión
Bruna Veronica Azevedo Gois
Egon Bernardo Mualeite
Filipe Moreira Biokino
Isadora Ribeiro Lino
Milena Moraes de Oliveira Lenza 
Nara Rúbia Pereira de Siqueira
Renata Santos Fedato Tobias
Yasmin Milhomens Moreira




Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page